chasm

It is a sin when someone knows the right thing to do and doesn’t do it.  – James 4:17 (CEB)

Recently, my kids and I had the opportunity to cut line and get tickets to Battle at Bristol, a football game between the University of Tennessee and Virginia Tech, that will shatter attendance records.  It’s going to be big, and my wife, God bless her, knowing I’m a football fan, thought this game would be a great family experience.  So, the day tickets went on sale to locals only, the kids and I loaded up in the care and went to stand in line.  When we arrived we realized that the line was hours long, and I was sure that by the time we got to the ticket window, tickets would be sold out.

As we made the disappointing walk back to our car, knowing we were not going to get tickets, we were afforded the opportunity to sneak into the group that was allowed to go to the ticket window.  I saw it, my kids saw it, so, I spoke up and pointed out what we all saw, the opportunity to get the tickets, and then told them to keep walking to the car.  It would have been easy to cut line and get the tickets, and I had the sneaky impulse to do it.  Instead, I got the parenting thing right this time, and used it as a learning opportunity.  I told my kids, “Doing the right thing isn’t easy, but it is right, so do the right thing.”

Knowing the right thing and not doing it is a sin. (James 4:17).  Tell me something I don’t know.  However, doing the right thing isn’t always easy.

Knowing is half the battle, doing is the other half.  Sometimes doing the right thing is simple but difficult.

I want to encourage you to do the right thing today.  We will be faced with many choices, opportunities to cut corners, cut line, and push the ethical and moral boundaries just a little bit further.

Prayer:  Lord, grant me the wisdom to know what is right, and the courage, character, and fortitude to do it.  Amen.