dude in church karl-fredrickson-27504

Photo by Karl Fredrickson on Unsplash

 

I was ready to respond to those who didn’t ask.
    I was ready to be found by those who didn’t look for me.
I said, “I’m here! I’m here!” to a nation
    that didn’t call on my name.
I extended my hands all day
    to a rebellious people
        walking in a way that isn’t good,
        following their own plans;

Isaiah 65: 1-2

As a pastor, folks tend to be spiritually open and honest when they come to my office or when I visit with them.  It’s not unusual to hear words like, “God seems distant.”, or even “God couldn’t still love me after what I’ve done.”

The Bible is full of reassurances like this one from Isaiah.  Isaiah spoke these words to people who felt like God had abandoned them.  These are meant to be words of comfort and hope that God has not abandoned us.  The prophet’s words remind us that God never left, and God’s hope and love for us never waned – it’s the people who moved away from God.  As a friend of mine likes to say, “If you feel far off from God, guess who moved?”

Sometimes we just need to reminded that God still loves us in spite of who we are and what we have done.

Fred needed to hear these words when I visited him in the local jail.  Justin needed to hear these words when I met with him in the hospital.  Scott needed to hear these words when he came into my office:  “God still loves you.”

Maybe you’re the one who needs to hear these words today.  God still loves you!, Always has and always will, no matter what you’ve done.

We all have times in our lives where we need the reassurance, after what we heinous things we have done, that God still loves us.  (That doesn’t mean we won’t suffer consequences for our actions, but that nothing can stop God from loving you.)

Maybe you need to hear it again.  God still loves you.

Prayer:  Lord, after all that I’ve done, I’m amazed that you could still love me.  I know I don’t deserve it, but thanks.  I guess that’s why it’s called amazing grace.  I pray today for all those who feel far off from you or don’t believe that you still love them.  May they hear your voice when you say, “Here I am!  I’m here.”

