“My child, if your heart is wise, then my heart too will be happy.”‭‭ – Proverbs‬ ‭23:15‬ ‭CEB‬‬

We all make bad choices, myself included.  That’s why wisdom is so important.  The Bible even personifies God as wisdom.  (It should be noted that wisdom is a feminine noun in ancient Greek.)

In a sense then, it occurs to me that striving for Wisdom is like chasing after God.  I like to think I’m getting wiser every day.  The pursuit of being more like Jesus, is in part, pursuing wisdom.  

Solomon didn’t wish for more wealth or more power as king, he asked the Lord for wisdom.  

I appreciate today’s verse from Proverbs 23 even more from a parental perspective.  

I don’t just want wisdom for myself.  Because I see it’s value, I want it even more for our children.  

Lord knows they’ll need it.  Look at the global problems and issues we are handing them.  

Maybe we could all do little more in pursuing God and live a little more like Jesus by chasing wisdom.  And maybe, just maybe, the world around us will be better for it. 

Prayer:  Lord, grant me wisdom.  Amen. 

