“And we urge you, brothers and sisters, warn those who are idle and disruptive, encourage the disheartened, help the weak, be patient with everyone. Make sure that nobody pays back wrong for wrong, but always strive to do what is good for each other and for everyone else.”‭‭1 Thessalonians‬ ‭5:14-15‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Over the last couple of years my kids have really gotten into riding roller coasters.  The full gambit of emotions begins with the fear and anticipation as we wait in line, board the thing, and then travel up some giant hill, which is supplanted as we crest the hill and plunge into the exhilarating rush of adrenaline of the ride.  Couple that with the sense of survival and return to peace as the ride returns to the station, and in just a minute or two your soul has gotten an emotional workout. 

Do you ever feel like life is one giant roller coaster with all its ups and downs and twists and turn and loops?  

What I love about today’s verse from 1 Thessalonians is that on the roller coaster of life, sometimes we need others to set us straight, encourage us, or simply be patient with us.  At other times, we are called to be that person for someone else.  – “…always strive to do what is good for each other and for everyone else.”  

Life is like a roller coaster.  You can ride it by yourself, but it so much better to ride it with a friend.  

In life though, we were never meant to ride alone.  God is always with us and the people that The Lord brings into our lives are on this ride with us as well. 

Prayer:  Lord, some days I love the roller coaster of life, other days I need the roller coaster to pull into the station and give me a break.  Either way you are with me and have surrounded me with some pretty amazing people.  Use me to encourage them, help them, and teach me to be patient with them, just as you and so many others you have sent my way have done for me.  Amen. 

